The contest

Around 80 judges, all from countries with mountain farming and cheese production will be assessing the 800 or so mountain cheeses entered in 16 different categories. The juries will be made up of experts from cheese dairies, cheese marketing, the catering sector, colleges as well as specialist journalists.

To be eligible for the competition, milk has to be used that has been produced at an altitude in excess of 600 m. The international jury will be basing its assessments on the competition rules set out by Caseus Montanus.

The sensory testing for each cheese involves the following three criteria and a maximum score of 20 points: Appearance/exterior/holes (5 points), taste/aroma (10 points) and consistency/dough (5 points).

The judges’ assessments will be used to create a position table for each category. The winners in each category will be awarded a gold, silver or bronze medal on the 25th October 2009. In addition, the cheeses with a protected designation of origin within each category will also be awarded prizes.

 

The winners of all categories

The jury

Competition rules (PDF, 57 kB)

6th Mountain Cheese Olympics 2009
Mountain Cheese Olympics
22.-25.10.2009
Patronage
Swiss Confederation - Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Hosts
FROMARTE – the Swiss Cheese Specialists
Tête de Moine
Partners
Republic and Canton of Jura
Canton of Berne
Gold sponsors
coop

Der Wettbewerb

Rund 80 Juroren aus Ländern mit Berglandwirtschaft und Käseherstellung werden die etwa 800 eingereichten Käse aus den Bergen in 16 Kategorien beurteilen und bewerten. Als Mitglieder der Jury werden Fachleute aus Käsereien, der Käsevermarktung, der Gastronomie, von Fachschulen sowie Fachjournalisten berufen.

Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme an der Qualitätsbeurteilung ist die Verarbeitung von Milch, die in einer Höhenlage von mehr als 600 Metern produziert wurde. Grundlage für die Arbeit der internationalen Jury ist das Wettbewerbsreglement von Caseus Montanus.

Die sensorische Prüfung der Käse umfasst die drei folgenden Kriterien mit der Maximalpunktzahl von 20 Punkten: Aussehen/Äusseres/Lochung (5 Punkte), Geschmack/Aroma (10 Punkte) und Konsistenz/Teig (5 Punkte).

Aus den Bewertungen der Juroren wird pro Kategorie eine Rangliste erstellt. Die Gewinner pro Kategorie werden am 25. Oktober 2009 mit einer Gold-, Silber- oder Bronzemedaille ausgezeichnet. Innerhalb einer Kategorie werden die Käse mit geschützter Ursprungsbezeichnung zusätzlich prämiert und ausgezeichnet.

 

Die Gewinner aller Kategorien

Die Jury

Wettbewerbsreglement (PDF, 58 kB)

6. Olympiade der Bergkäse 2009
Olympiade
der Bergkäse
22.-25.10.2009
Patronat
Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft - Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW
Veranstalter
FROMARTE – die Schweizer Käsespezialisten
Tête de Moine
Partner
Republik und Kanton Jura
Kanton Bern
Goldsponsor
coop