The contest

Around 80 judges, all from countries with mountain farming and cheese production will be assessing the 800 or so mountain cheeses entered in 16 different categories. The juries will be made up of experts from cheese dairies, cheese marketing, the catering sector, colleges as well as specialist journalists.

To be eligible for the competition, milk has to be used that has been produced at an altitude in excess of 600 m. The international jury will be basing its assessments on the competition rules set out by Caseus Montanus.

The sensory testing for each cheese involves the following three criteria and a maximum score of 20 points: Appearance/exterior/holes (5 points), taste/aroma (10 points) and consistency/dough (5 points).

The judges’ assessments will be used to create a position table for each category. The winners in each category will be awarded a gold, silver or bronze medal on the 25th October 2009. In addition, the cheeses with a protected designation of origin within each category will also be awarded prizes.

 

The winners of all categories

The jury

Competition rules (PDF, 57 kB)

6th Mountain Cheese Olympics 2009
Mountain Cheese Olympics
22.-25.10.2009
Patronage
Swiss Confederation - Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Hosts
FROMARTE – the Swiss Cheese Specialists
Tête de Moine
Partners
Republic and Canton of Jura
Canton of Berne
Gold sponsors
coop

Le concours

Près de 80 jurés de pays dotés d’une agriculture de montagne et d’une production fromagère vont apprécier et donner des points à près de 800 fromages de montagne répartis en 16 catégories. Des professionnels des fromageries, du commerce de fromage, de la restauration, des écoles professionnelles, ainsi que des journalistes spécialisés fonctionneront au sein du jury.

Pour participer au concours, un fromage doit être fabriqué à partir de lait produit à plus de 600 m d’altitude. Le jury international travaillera conformément au règlement du concours de Caseus Montanus.

L’analyse sensorielle des fromages comprend les trois critères suivants et un maximum de 20 points est attribué: apparence/extérieur/ouverture (5 points), goût/arôme (10 points) et consistence/pâte (5 points).

Un classement sera établi pour chaque catégorie suite à l’appréciation des jurys. Les gagnants de chaque catégorie seront distingués le 25 octobre 2009 et recevront une médaille d’or, d’argent ou de bronze. A l’intérieur d’une catégorie, les fromages dotés d’une appellation d’origine contrôlée seront primés et distingués séparément.

 

Les gagnants dans toutes les catégories

Le jury

Règlement du concours (PDF, 57 Ko)

6e Olympiades des fromages de montagne 2009
Olympiades des fro-
mages de Montagne
22–25.10.2009
Patronage
Confédération suisse - Office fédéral de l'économie OFAG
Organisateurs
FROMARTE – artisans suisses du fromage
Tête de Moine
Partenaires
République et Canton du Jura
Canton de Berne
Sponsor or
coop