The home of the Tête de Moine!

Our region stretches across the canton of Jura and the Bernese Jura, from the medieval town of La Neuveville situated on the edge of Lake Bienne, to Ajoie on the French border.

The landscape is rich and varied, ranging from lakes to mountains, from rolling plains to wild gorges, from soaring crests to deep valleys, from ponds to farming land. In the middle of this region, we find the only place on Earth where monks, farmers and craftsmen have developed a unique expertise which can transform the flowers in the pastures to flowers of cheese – the famous rosettes created by Tête de Moine cheese.

This is a paradise for slow tourism – on foot, by bike, or mountain bike, this is the best way to discover the diversity of the region – unspoiled nature awaits you at every turn, from smallholdings to the flanks of the Chasseral, the highest mountain in the Arc Jurassien (1607 m) or on the Franches-Montagnes plateau, where the horses are lord and master.

A region rich in stories and legends, our history comes alive in the medieval towns of Saint-Ursanne and La Neuveville. While this is a land steeped in tradition, we have one foot resolutely in the future with our watchmaking and precision technology industries. Here, we focus on giving each minute all the attention it deserves, no more, no less...

The local population, proud of its past and of its heritage and attached to the region, will welcome you – perhaps a little shyly to begin with, but all the more warmly once the ice has been broken.

We welcome you to our home – to the home of the Tête de Moine.
 

Official website of the Tête de Moine

6th Mountain Cheese Olympics 2009
Mountain Cheese Olympics
22.-25.10.2009
Patronage
Swiss Confederation - Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Hosts
FROMARTE – the Swiss Cheese Specialists
Tête de Moine
Partners
Republic and Canton of Jura
Canton of Berne
Gold sponsors
coop

Le Pays d’origine de la Tête de Moine!

Composée du Canton du Jura et du Jura bernois, la région s’étend de la cité médiévale de La Neuveville, au bord du lac de Bienne, jusqu’aux confins de l’Ajoie, à la frontière française.

C’est un pays multiple qui se décline entre lac et montagnes, entre plaines et gorges sauvages, entre crêtes et vallées, entre étangs et cultures. C’est au milieu de cette contrée que se trouve le seul endroit au monde ou des moines, des agriculteurs et des artisans ont développé un savoir-faire unique qui permet de transformer les fl eurs des pâturages en fleurs de fromage – les fameuses rosettes de Tête de Moine.

Paradis du tourisme doux, c’est à pied, à vélo ou en VTT que la région dévoile toutes ses facettes: aux abords d’une métairie, sur les flancs de Chasseral, la plus haute montagne de l’Arc jurassien (1607 m) ou sur le plateau des Franches-Montagnes, où règne en maître le cheval, les hôtes découvrent une nature intacte.

Contrée riche en contes et légendes, l’histoire s’exprime au travers des cités médiévales de Saint-Ursanne et de La Neuveville. Ce pays est aussi résolument tourné vers l’avenir avec ses manufactures horlogères et sa technologie de précision.

Ici, tout porte au désir de placer dans chaque minute l’attention qu’elle mérite, ni plus, ni moins... La population, fière de son passé, de son patrimoine et attachée à sa terre vous accueillera.

Parfois un peu timide mais tellement attachante lorsque le premier pas est franchi...

Soyez les bienvenus chez nous, le Pays d’origine de la Tête de Moine.
 

Site web officiel du Tête de Moine

6e Olympiades des fromages de montagne 2009
Olympiades des fro-
mages de Montagne
22–25.10.2009
Patronage
Confédération suisse - Office fédéral de l'économie OFAG
Organisateurs
FROMARTE – artisans suisses du fromage
Tête de Moine
Partenaires
République et Canton du Jura
Canton de Berne
Sponsor or
coop